The Story of Roxy – Chapter 2

We were together for so many things.  She was all I needed to be happy and I’m glad I was able to show her t17943_1241083200289_2851337_nhe love of a dog. I was happy to be with her for some of the most heart wrenching moments of her life. My place was always by her side. I also loved sharing happy moments with her.

The older boy came to live with us after a while, I wasn’t sure where he came from but it sure made her happy. And for awhile that was probably the happiest I saw her. Those early years with her were pretty sad.

Her mom was sick and we lived with her.  She tried to be positive but I could feel her sadness just seep from her body.  I was happy though as I had lots of friends to play with.  I had Gypsy, she was a Rottweiler and I loved her so. I would lay at her feet and she would lick my entire head, mom would always be mad about that and told me I stunk.  There was Scooter, he looked a lot like me but he was old, and he thought he was alpha. I let him think that since I knew he wouldn’t be around long.  He also chose the smaller boy to be his person and they were good together.  I was glad – it meant the boy would not bother me.

One day her mom left us.  A man came and got her and put her into a long car.  It was the first time I’d felt that much pain and loss from her, sure I’d felt her sadness before but nothing like this.  I had felt grandma leave and was confused when I looked and saw her still sleeping. I was happy to be there to help mom, to love her, to make her smile even if it didn’t last long.

A while after that her and the boy left the tall man. We moved to a little trailer in the country with a big yard where I could run, but Gypsy couldn’t come with us and Scooter had been gone for awhile. I wasn’t sure where he went but that was okay.  It was so peaceful at our new home and then suddenly I felt that peace leave, and there he was – the tall man was here. I really didn’t care for him much, the only time I really liked him was when he stayed in bed with me.  I didn’t like how sad he made her. And I really didn’t like how he would hold me like a baby and called me a baby. Actually, I hated that so when he finally left for good I was glad to see him go. I didn’t like seeing her so sad but I knew sooner or later she would find her happiness again and I would be there to see her smile again.17943_1238480255217_8252135_n

We moved a couple more times and finally we found a place where her and the
boy were really happy again, we played every evening and she took lots of pictures of me. I even made up with the boy finally and sometimes I’d even let him love me.

 

Then there he was. He wasn’t tall, closer to her height, and she was smiling a lot only she
smiled more at him. I didn’t like that, so when he turned around – I bit him! That will scare him, he’ll get out, I’m alpha here! But he never left, and he brought the girl to our house.  She was younger than the boy and I don’t think she liked me – I thought once she was trying to sell me! She always wanted her friends to come over and I had just gotten used to these two new people being there, I didn’t want anyone else with my family. Why can’t we just all be happy here, just us? We don’t need other humans around.

Life was good and before long I started to love him as much as she did. I loved to lay on the couch with him. He rubbed my ears better than anyone but it made me miss Gypsy. I wondered where she was. I forgot about Gypsy for awhile when they brought a little puppy home. Her name was Hunny and she belonged to the girl.

One summer day, he brought her a ring and they started talking about a wedding and moving to a new house. She was happy, even more than she had been and this made me happy. We moved to our new house before the wedding. I had a yard with a fence so I could run and play.  I smelled cat all over the house but I never did find it.297298_2363751946306_34847397_n
The boy got a dog too…she looked a lot like me, but I never really paid much attention to her. I sure did love Hunny though, she was pretty and she would paw at me when she wanted to play.

As the days went on I could tell that I was getting older and slowing down…I had teeth pulled, and then more pulled. It seemed I went to my doctor a lot more and I hated new people coming over even more. I found myself thinking more about Gypsy and I wanted to find her.

Leave a Reply

